Her First Bites

One generation to the next, My daughter was able to have her first bites of solid food this past week, and she was able to have those “bites” in the same high chair I used as a young child. The older wooden high chair will work for a little while longer but we are looking for a newer version, that also has a bigger lip on the sides so my miss messy eater won’t be able to keep pushing her Farley biscuits off the side of the tray.

I am very thankful that my mother gladly helped me with Lily’s first bites, I’ve spent months worrying and stressing over her first foods and having my mother a veteran in baby feeding be by my side helped calm my nerves.

We got Lily all set up in the high chair, letting her play with a toy for a few minutes before we started feeding just so that she would be a little more comfortable in the seat, and we then fed her, at first Lily loved it, she was grabbing for the spoon, somewhat eating what was on the spoon, of course some didn’t make it into the mouth but all over her face. Then the third bite was when things started to get a little harder, she was not opening her mouth for the spoon, and eventually gave the cutest, but most disgusted look on her face. She stopped opening her mouth and wasn’t taking in any of the food. So we finally decided that was enough for the day.

Second Bite!

Second Bite!

At first we thought it was a different texture so that might be the reason, and we moved to watering the food down a little more and feeding it to her through a bottle, she drank it up quickly. Our idea is that the spoon was part of the problem, seeing as she loves the food when drank through a bottle.

Later on while my mother and I were cooking dinner (I’m visiting my parents for the week) we decided to put Lily back in the high chair and give her a Farley biscuit. I was amazed that this biscuit was the first thing she didn’t automatically put into her mouth…of course the thing you want her to put in her mouth and “chew” she doesn’t! After breaking the biscuit in half so it was easier for her to handle she went at it, she started “chewing” bits that fell off into her mouth and when she either dropped a piece in her lap or was all finished with her piece she would bang on the high chair table until we gave her another piece.

The mess was all over, crumbs on the floor, the whole table with crumb and wet biscuit, it was all up her hands and arms, crumbs on her pants, all over the bib, on her sleeves, on top of her nose and on her cheeks close to her ears somehow, and even after taking her bib off we found some underneath were the bib was!

I’m proud of my daughter, and this amazing new milestone, her first bites went better then I expected!

Leave a Reply

