Honey Mustard Vegetable Pasta Salad

Every home cook, foodie,and random cooker will have more then one moment in there life when they are trying to cook something and realize they don’t have all the ingredients they need, some cooks have the luck to know off hand what to substitute for what, some don’t even realize you can substitute certain things, and others, call there mothers, like I normally do.

I really wanted to make a simple yet yummy homemade meal, with this heat I sadly haven’t been able to stand in the kitchen for a long period of time to cook, since we no longer have the window in our kitchen to ventilate it best, and with it being close to 30 degrees outside, and me being pregnant it takes a lot out of me, and can cause me to feel faint. Today though I wanted to give Michael a nice summer meal, we have garlic and herb marinated shrimp that we will be grilling, and I wanted something that was a summer side dish, and something that was a cold side due to the heat.

Of course once I cooked the pasta, cut the vegetables and was just about to start making the dressing for the pasta salad I realized I didn’t have a couple of ingredients; I didn’t have vinegar (I know, I’m a foodie how the heck do I not have vinegar!?) and I didn’t have dry mustard either. But that didn’t stop me I substituted dill pickle juice for the vinegar and then I was wondering what to do with the mustard, we don’t have mustard in our house normally, at least not that neon yellow mustard has never graced our past and current fridge(s). That’s when I remembered we have honey mustard in the cupboard! I was so excited to see how it would taste, and look.

I was so happy after tasting it and having Michael taste test it, he loved it, and I did to! The honey mustard gave a little sweet kick to the whole wheat pasta and vegetables that was greatly enjoyed! It isn’t to sweet so you don’t have to worry about that, but its a little side taste to the salad.

Honey Mustard Vegetable Pasta Salad

Honey Mustard Pasta Salad!

Honey Mustard Pasta Salad!

Ingredients: 

  • 1 1/2 Cups whole wheat rotini
  • 1/2 Cup broccoli florets
  • 1 tbsp grated carrot
  • 4 cooked slices bacon, chopped up into bits
  • 1 tbsp grated cheese

Dressing:

  • 1 large scoop of mayonnaise
  • 1 tsp pickle juice
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp honey mustard
  • dash of salt and pepper.
  1. Boil water and cook pasta, let cool
  2. In big mixing bowl mix in broccoli, carrots, bacon, cheese and the cooled down pasta.
  3. In a small bowl mix together the dressing ingredients.
  4. Pour dressing over pasta and vegetable mixture, mix together until well coated, refrigerate.

If you happen to try this recipe, please let me know how it tasted to you, and your opinions!

One thought on “Honey Mustard Vegetable Pasta Salad

  1. wow ! I am starving since morning today and the picture of this food is making me die for 😉 Love the picture, Love the recipe and Love the post……Mostly because it shows some food 😛 Love xx

Leave a Reply

