Vegetarian Black Bean Burrito

Before Wrapping

Before Wrapping

While I was vegetarian I didn’t have as much time in my kitchen as I was normally use to. I loved to cook dinner with my mother, and alone for my family and would normally be the only one either in the kitchen, or in the attached kitchenette area to cook, but once I became a vegetarian I started to cook my own dinners and my other family members took over cooking for the rest of the family, which meant more people in the kitchen! This recipe though was easy and quick to cook, and really actually isn’t much of a “recipe” and just throwing things together, but does it taste delicious!

I sadly have been unable to really eat this dish for awhile, due to the fact that Michael is allergic to rice so I do not feel like leaving him out while cooking dinner, and on top of that, like i’ve written before Michael is quite the meat eater and this just wouldn’t be good enough for him and he would want meat in his. I am thinking of adapting this recipe so I am able to have my burrito and he is able to have his own, but I can not wait to share this “recipe” with my followers!

Vegetarian Black Kidney Bean Burritos! (Serves 2)

Black Kidney Bean Burrito!

Black Kidney Bean Burrito!

Ingredients:

  • One can of black, or white kidney beans, drained and washed (I only use about a cup)
  • Brown Rice, cooked (I normally just use minute rice and cook up one serving for myself)
  • Monterrey jack cheese shredded (I choose this cheese because it melts perfectly)
  • A couple of leaves of spinach, washed.
  • Large Whole Wheat Tortillas, two

Directions:

  1. Mix in a bowl the shredded cheese and the cooked rice. (I do this because then when eating the burrito the cheese is spread out through the wrap)
  2. Lay out whole wheat tortilla, line spinach leave in middle of tortilla, place kidney beans atop leaves (as much as you wish) then spoon on as much brown rice and cheese mixture you wish. Fold up sides of tortilla and roll the rest of the wrap.
  3. I like to use an indoor grill or panini make to warm up the burrito but if you do not have this kitchen appliance, heat a skillet, put burrito in skillet then press burrito down with a small heavy pan or pizza stone, then flip when one side has a little brownish tinge. When done I like to cut in half and then eat up!
  4. This was one of my favorite vegetarian lunches, it’s quick, easy and you can make extra rice mixture at once to go with the remaining kidney beans and make more for dinner or lunch the next day, so it’s great for the busy vegetarian!

This was one of my favorite vegetarian lunches, it’s quick, easy and you can make extra rice mixture at once to go with the remaining kidney beans and make more for dinner or lunch the next day, so it’s great for the busy vegetarian!

If you have tried this recipe, or just simply have opinions on it, please share, I would love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

