Strawberry Rhubarb Parfait Tea Review

My mother and I went to Davids tea early last week to make sure we had a tea for my aunts bridal showers ice tea that we were planning on making (which will be in a future post) I was amazed that the first tea we were given to smell from the advice of the sales associate was the one we couldn’t help but pick (I normally spend around 10-15 minutes choosing tea, while this trip was only around 6-7 minutes!) I was so excited to come home and try this tea.

Tea Steeping

Tea Steeping

The ancient Chinese used it in medicine. The medieval Europeans traded for it along the Silk Road. And today we love it in pies, sauces, muffins or just plain, dipped in a little sugar. But the best way to eat rhubarb is with sweet, ripe strawberries. Like in this refreshingly fruity, deep red tisane. It tastes as bright and juicy as a fresh-picked berry, with a tart rhubarb punch and a subtle hint of yogurt creaminess. We love it hot or iced, or as the base for sweet, zippy sangria. Now that’s a beautiful thing. Caffeine-free. From DavidsTea site.

Ingredients include:

  • Apple
  • hibiscus
  • raisins
  • carrot
  • yogurt bits
  • beetroot
  • strawberry
  • rhubarb
  • artificial flavouring

The smell of this tea was what caught me, and my mother off guard, we were amazed at how strong and natural the smell of strawberries were in this tea, both dry and after being steeped. Actually the whole kitchen smelled like strawberries after steeping this tea!

The liquor of this tea is a bright, yet deep red. It’s a beautiful color!

I was a little saddened by the taste of this tea, while I am one that dislikes adding any sugar, honey or agave to sweeten tea because I like to let the tea do itself justice, I could not drink this tea straight. But I must say it might also be due to me not really tasting rhubarb before and that might be what I am not use to. The taste though was good, there is no taste of tea of course. The strawberry flavor is there, and I do agree with the description that there is a little creaminess flavor from the yogurt.

Overall I will be returning to Davidstea to purchase this tea again.

One thought on “Strawberry Rhubarb Parfait Tea Review

Leave a Reply

