This Girls Favorite Breakfast

I have never been a breakfast person at all. Ask my mother and she will tell you when I was growing up she would have to fight with me to eat my breakfast, most days it came down to me eating a bowl of cereal my mother was carrying while she walked me to school, which once we got onto the school yard and I hadn’t finished my cereal, it was known I wouldn’t, that large field just called my name.

Through the years eating breakfast became more of an issue, I have had issues with healthy eating and one of the main things I would skip was breakfast. Another issue I had with eating breakfast was due to my insomnia troubles, unable to sleep I was unsure of when one day began and the other ended in my mindset and eating a “morning meal” didn’t make sense if I had yet to get to bed.

But since finding out I was pregnant I realized I had to crack down and feed my body more then I was, and that began with the first meal of the day, breakfast. Where I’ve tried different types of breakfasts, eggs, bacon, cereal, oatmeal, fruit salads, yogurt…nothing came in comparison to this quick breakfast, with one of my biggest pregnancy cravings included…apples.

Peanut Butter Co, white chocolate wonderful!

Peanut Butter Co, white chocolate wonderful!

During my first trimester every day I was eating around two apples, and eating apples by themselves for two weeks straight began to get boring and I definitely needed a new way to eat my apple, and to add more healthy essentials for a breakfast so I started another week of the first trimester (close to the end of the first trimester actually) with a new breakfast idea. Of course I turned to my peanut butter, my very special peanut butter that I was able to find at another Remarks market trip. This peanut butter I can tell you I have been looking for, for months, and I wanted a special “recipe” to use it in, this peanut butter is to good just for a PB&J sandwich! The next thing I turned to was my whole wheat wraps/tortilla’s I solely use whole wheat wraps, preferring the taste of whole wheat to any other flavor. Then I turned to cinnamon and I found the perfect mix of flavors for the perfect breakfast, or snack.

Whole wheat, apple, PB wrap!

Whole wheat, apple, PB wrap!

Whole Wheat Apple PB Wrap!

Ingredients:

  • Apple, any type, I prefer Red Gala Or Red Delicious, but whatever is your favorite!
  • Peanut Butter, it doesn’t have to be a special flavor, any type of PB is great!
  • Whole Wheat Tortilla
  • Cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Pull out tortilla and slather on as much peanut butter down the middle as you wish!
  2. Slice apple in half, then in half again and cut slivers of apple and place slivers on top of peanut butter (I normally use half a apple for the tortilla and leave half to eat by itself.
  3. Sprinkle as much cinnamon as you please
  4. Fold up top and bottom and roll up the sides of tortilla
  5. Plate (Or not) and enjoy!

I hope you try this healthy, and delicious apple “recipe” for yourself, or for your little kiddos like I plan on doing once little blessing is old enough. Like I’ve said it’s great as a breakfast, or as a snack!

If you have tried this recipe, and have opinions please comment I would love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

