My Trip To Sunfest!

Every summer here in London,Victoria Park, downtown gets transformed into a folk music fest with many vendors, vendors selling wood carvings, summer dresses, handmade jewelry, fresh juices/smoothies, international foods, fair trade items, and much much more!

Soybeans from the Bean Ladies!

Soybeans from the Bean Ladies!

Yesterday My mother and I began around two in the afternoon, which meant it was the hottest point of the day, and sadly I forgot my sunscreen, but at least I remembered my comfy padded sandals because we were planning on walking plenty and boy did we! One of our first purchases were for flavored soybeans, from a local company which my mother and I both adore. We were able to sample all the soybean flavors and our picks were an interesting combination! we purchased dill pickle, smokey bacon, and apple and cinnamon.

After walking down one lane of clothing, and jewelry vendors we decided we needed something refreshing to sip on and just something to eat, so we walked down all of the food vendors. I was able to see so many different types of food, Greek, Chinese, British, and middle eastern. Our first purchase was something to quench our thirst, I was so happy to find the Tiki Bar that i’ve drank from before, it has the best fresh smoothies made right infront of you. I wanted to share a drink with my mother, and sadly there smoothies have banana in them which my mother is allergic to so we decided upon lemonade, and I asked if we could have some mangoes in with the lemonade and I’m happy I asked! Mangoes were a refreshing finish to the drink!

Best fruit smoothies and lemonade at Sunfest!

Best fruit smoothies and lemonade at Sunfest!

Lemonade with fresh mangoes!

Lemonade with fresh mangoes!

Milk Caramel Churro!

Milk Caramel Churro!

Know onto to the food, where we spaced out our food choices since we couldn’t find anything healthy (and boy did we look!) my mother decided to make me into a pregnant cliche and ordered us a deep fried pickle to share. I was pleasantly surprised, dipping it into some ranch definitely made for a great treat.Our other unhealthy treat we had later on in the day, just before we left Sunfest at six pm, a milk caramel churro, it was small enough that it didn’t make me feel guilty for eating it, but big enough that it hit the spot for my sweet tooth.

After food and drink, and another lemonade we returned to walking and looking at vendors. I was happy to finally find a ring that I thought Michael would love…and of course neither Michael or I know his ring size! (my plan is to get Michael’s finger sized and return to another “fest” at Victoria Park this summer and purchase a ring) I was looking for something else for Michael but a lot of the vendors are aimed towards women so I wasn’t fully able to find anything for him, gives me a reason to return to other events later!

I was excited to finally find a cameo locket necklace, and at an amazing price! I love cameos and have been looking for just the right one since I was a little girl. I am also very excited to fit a picture into the locket of Michael and I’s family portrait!

Beautiful Display

Beautiful Display

Cameo Locket!

Cameo Locket!

Pina Colada in tea form!

Pina Colada in tea form!

Of course this tea addict would find the lone tea vendor at Sunfest, and find it and spend more then fifteen minutes searching through all the tea and teacups and teapots. Sadly I wasn’t able to purchase to much but I found a black tea that I am so excited to try! Pina Colada, this tea smells so good dry, I can’t imagine how great it will taste!

I had such a great day with my mother, spending time just looking at fair trade, and handmade products was the best way to spend a nice summer afternoon. Sadly I have a slight sunburn on my shoulders and such but it was worth it! I can  not wait to go to another fair or “fest” hopefully I will be able to bring along Michael next time!

Leave a Reply

